Posted on

Technology, our Addiction and our Obsession

Ok so think about the matrix for a. Now remember when Morpheus gives Neo the option to take the red pill and enter the matrix? A world of hyper-interconnectivity and cyber space. If you cannot then here is the link, it’s kind of important if my point is to get across. RED PILL SCENE.

I know that when I watched this for the first time I wanted to be in Neo’s shoes and take the red pill and experience a different world. What I’m coming to realise is that we all have already taken the red pill. All of us, the whole mouse clicking, comment liking, apple addicted, bird launching bloody lot of us. I think its great. I really do. It means we can all stay connected for longer periods of time, more often, in more capacities.

Image

We cannot only do that but if you want to look at it from an optimistic point of view I guess, we are in a sense saving the rainforests. I mean we no longer bother to have encyclopaedias, phone books, or novels. We can get all of that conveniently on an iPad which has great accessibility, on the couch, in our cigarette break. Its ours. We are surround ourselves with convenience. So much distracting convenience.

I would like to propose that when Tim Berners-Lee created the World Wide Web he was being literal. A web that is: addictive, attention sucking and life distracting. I’m sure we all experience that feeling of nostalgia and fulfilment when we lie in some grass or build something with our hands. It’s tangible and real. It speaks not to our sensibilities but to our souls. It speaks in a foreign language, one that we used to know but are beginning to forget. We forget it because we cannot speak it; we can only gargle the keys of the keyboard we have shoved down our own throats. We have silenced ourselves. A priest might say we have excommunicated ourselves, but I wouldn’t know because my only connection to a higher spirit is my ‘what would Chuck Norris do’ T-shirt (that I got from eBay).

I get the irony that I’m writing all this in a blog and not carving it into stone with my bear hands or using parchment and a quill but this is what we have created. It’s immense what we have achieved I don’t doubt that for a second.  The last two hundred years with the Great war and the following World war two have seen technology advance at an incredible rate, so fast that we still are unaware of its side affects. I mean, you hear stories of death due to video games and new statistics of married couples that first met via the Internet. I’m just curious as to how much it’s going to cost us. Are we going to become zombies? Mindlessly shuffling from one device to the next, one distraction to the next? Is it an attempt of escapism? What is it that we don’t like about the ‘real’ world that drives us to burry our heads in the sand not stopping to smell the flowers?

It has become appalling obvious that our technology has exceeded our humanity-Albert Einstein

When I die, all I want is for the last thing that I discover is to be that  anything but a Facebook page or an internet site. At the end of the day all it is, is this:

1 1 0 0 0 1 0 1 1 0 1 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 1 1 0 0 1 0 1 1 0 0 1 1 0 0 0 1 1 0 1 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 1 0 1 0 1 0 1 1 0 0 1 1 0 0 1 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 1 0 1 0  1 1 0 0 0 1 0 1 1 0 1 0

About jamieblogger67

20YROLD Male born in raised in the motherland aka New Zealand. Currently studying in Melbourne and enjoying every second.

Leave a Reply

